Central American Common Market

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(CACM or ODECA) An economic organization comprising Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica. Beginning with a treaty signed by all five countries in 1960 the CACM sought to reduce trade barriers, stimulate exports, and encourage industrialization by means of regional cooperation. With a permanent secretariat at Guatemala City, its aim was cooperation with the member countries of the Latin American Free Trade Association (now called the Latin American Integration Association). During the 1970s, it somewhat lost impetus, owing to war, upheaval, international recession, and ideological differences among member states. A new tariff and customs agreement came into effect in 1986, when regional trade improved. In 1993 Panama agreed to implement full economic integration with the CACM nations.

Subjects: International Law — World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.