Sir James Chadwick

(1891—1974) nuclear physicist

Related Overviews

Ernest Rutherford (1871—1937) physicist


Hans Wilhelm Geiger (1882—1945) physicist

Frédéric Jean Joliot (1900—1958) French nuclear physicist

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Science and Mathematics
  • Contemporary History (Post 1945)


Quick Reference

(1891–1974) British physicist.

After working at Manchester University under Rutherford, he went to work with Hans Geiger in Leipzig in 1913. Interned for the duration of World War I, he joined Rutherford in Cambridge after the war. In 1932 he discovered the neutron, as predicted by Rutherford. In 1935 he was awarded the Nobel Prize, the same year in which he built Britain's first cyclotron at Liverpool University.

Subjects: Science and Mathematics — Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »