Chaldean Christians

'Chaldean Christians' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Christianity
  • Medieval and Renaissance History (500 to 1500)


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

That part of the Church of the East in communion with the see of Rome. There are two main groups: those of the Middle East and those of Malabar. As a result of a disputed succession within the Middle Eastern group, a separate line of Uniat Patriarchs came into existence in 1553 and remained in communion with Rome until 1672. In 1681 a new Uniat line of Patriarchs at Diyarbekr was inaugurated and lasted for over a century. In 1830 the Uniat Patriarchate was again restored, now at Baghdad, with the title ‘of Babylon’. For the Indian group, see Malabar Christians.

Subjects: Christianity — Medieval and Renaissance History (500 to 1500).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.