Peter Cheyney

(1896—1951) author

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1896–1951), crime writer; born Reginald Evelyn Peter Southouse-Cheyney in Co. Clare and educated in London, where he ran literary and detective agencies after wartime service. Beginning with This Man Is Dangerous (1936) and ending with Ladies Won't Wait (1951), Cheyney wrote more than fifty novels dealing with the street-wise sleuthing of Lemmy Caution and Slim Callaghan.

From The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.