Children of Adam

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Section of Whitman's Leaves of Grass, first published in the 1860 edition as “Enfans d'Adam,” and given its present title in 1867. It contains 16 poems, all concerned with physical love, identifying the sexual impulse with the spiritual force of the universe. Among the poems in the section are “I Sing the Body Electric,” “Spontaneous Me,” “Once I Pass'd Through a Populous City,” and “Facing West from California's Shores.” “Calamus,” a section concerned with the spiritual love of man for man, forms a complement.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.