Christian Brothers

Related Overviews

national schools

Daniel Murray (1768—1852) Roman Catholic archbishop of Dublin

Patrick Pearse (1879—1916) writer and Irish revolutionary


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • European History


Quick Reference

The Irish Catholic lay teaching order founded by Edmund Rice (1762–1844), who opened a school for poor boys in Waterford in 1802, followed shortly by schools in other Irish towns. ...

Subjects: European History.

Reference entries