Church in Wales

Quick Reference

The Church in Wales within the Anglican Communion came into being in 1920, when the Act of 1914 disestablishing the Church of England in the principality came into force. The four ancient Welsh dioceses of Bangor, St Asaph, St Davids, and Llandaff became a self‐governing church, with the bishop of St Asaph, Alfred George Edwards, as the first archbishop of Wales.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries