Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Zoology and Animal Sciences


Quick Reference

; class Aves)

An order of medium to large wading birds, many of which have specialized bills. Their toes are unwebbed or partially webbed and the middle claw is often pectinate. There are six families: Ardeidae, Cochleariidae, Balaenicipitidae, Ciconiidae, Threskiornithidae, and Phoenicopteridae. They are found world-wide.

Subjects: Zoology and Animal Sciences.

Reference entries