Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Founded 1895. First regular cond. Frank van der Stucken, 1896–1907. Orch. suspended 1907–9 because of labour dispute. Stokowski cond. 1909–12; Ernst Kunwald 1912–17; Ysaÿe 1918–22; Fritz Reiner 1922–31; Eugene Goossens 1931–47; Thor Johnson 1947–58; Max Rudolf 1958–70; Thomas Schippers 1970–77; Michael Gielen 1980–6; Jesús Lopez‐Cóbos 1982–2001; Paavo Järvi from 2001. Concerts given in Mus. Hall since 1930s (renovated 1970).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.