Cinque Ports

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A group of medieval ports in south-east England (originally five: Dover, Hastings, Hythe, Romney, and Sandwich; Rye and Winchelsea were added later) formerly allowed various trading privileges in exchange for providing the bulk of England's navy. Most of the old privileges were abolished in the 19th century and the Wardenship of the Cinque Ports is now a purely honorary post, currently held by Admiral Lord Boyce.

Subjects: History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.