cleft classification

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A number of classification systems have been defined. The Kernahan ‘striped Y’ classification, first described by D. A. Kernahan in 1971, uses the symbolic letter Y in which the upper arms of the Y represent the primary palate and the base represents the secondary palate, of which the most anterior segment represents the lip; the affected segments are darkened to give a visual representation of the type and extent of the cleft. The Veau classification, first described by V. Veau in 1931, classified clefts into four categories: Veau Class I is an isolated soft palate cleft, Class II is a hard/soft cleft palate, Class III is a unilateral cleft lip and palate, and Class IV is a bilateral cleft of the lip and palate.

Subjects: Dentistry.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.