Jack Clemo

(1916—1994) poet and novelist

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


poet. He came to critical notice with his novel Wilding Graft (1948). His poetry includes The Map of Clay (1961); The Echoing Tip (1971), which evokes the tormented landscape of the Cornish clay pits; The Bouncing Hills (1983); Selected Poems (1988); and Approach to Murano (1992). He also published two volumes of autobiography, Confessions of a Rebel (1949) and The Marriage of a Rebel (1980).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.