Quick Reference

To instruct an application that a file is no longer required. When a file is closed, any changes that have been made can be committed to disk, and the file may be released so that other applications can use it. In some cases an entirely new version of the file will be created and the previous version discarded, or renamed in such a way as to make clear that it is a backup version. See also open.

Subjects: Computing.

Reference entries