cloud species

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Part of the system of cloud classification, consisting of a subdivision of cloud genera according to structure or shape. Cloud species are: fibratus, spissatus, uncinus, castellatus, floccus, stratiformis, nebulosus, lenticularis, fractus, humilis, mediocris, congestus, calvus, and capillatus. The standard abbreviations consist of three letters. To describe a specific cloud, none, one, or more of the terms may be applied to an individual cloud genus. See also cloud variety.

Subjects: Meteorology and Climatology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.