cloud variety

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Part of the system of cloud classification, which subdivides the cloud genera according to transparency and the arrangement of cloud elements. Cloud varieties are: duplicatus, intortus, lacunosus, opacus, perlucidus, radiatus, translucidus, undulatus, and vertebratus. The standard abbreviations consist of two letters. To describe a specific cloud, none, one, or more of the terms may be applied to an individual cloud genus. See also cloud species.

Subjects: Meteorology and Climatology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.