Related Overviews

Joshua Reynolds (1723—1792) portrait and history painter and art theorist

Edmund Burke (1729—1797) politician and author

Oliver Goldsmith (1730—1774) author

Samuel Johnson (1709—1784) author and lexicographer

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Was an informal group founded by Dr Johnson at the suggestion of Joshua Reynolds in the winter of 1763–4. The nine original members included Goldsmith and Burke; those elected later included Percy, Garrick, Boswell, C. J. Fox, Steevens, Adam Smith, Banks, and Malone. See Coffee Houses.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.