Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A Welsh county created under the Local Government Act of 1972 and extant from 1974 to 1996. It was made up of the former counties of Denbighshire and Flintshire, with the Edeyrnion rural district in the south‐west, transferred from Merioneth. It had little in the way of common historical identity, although there was some industrial inheritance, since it included the whole of the North Wales Coalfield. In 1996 it was divided into three new unitary authorities, Denbighshire, Flintshire, and Wrexham, whilst Colwyn on the western border of Clwyd was joined with Aberconwy.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.