Jonathan Coe

(b. 1961)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1961– ),

novelist, short‐story writer, and journalist, born in Birmingham. His first two novels, The Accidental Woman (1987) and A Touch of Love (1989), are playful and experimental. The Dwarves of Death (1990) is an entertaining romp through the hand‐to‐mouth world of semi‐professional musicians in London, and is as much a low‐key thriller as a vicious attack on the musicals of Andrew Lloyd Webber. What a Carve Up! (1994) is a satire on 1980s Conservative Britain, and centres on a writer who is commissioned to write about a powerful Yorkshire family for a vanity publisher. The House of Sleep (1997) explores themes of narcolepsy, cinema, dreaming, and transsexuality. The Rotters' Club (2001) evokes boyhood in Birmingham in the 1970s, and The Closed Circle (2004) is a sequel. Coe has also written biographies of James Stewart, Humphrey Bogart, and B. S. Johnson.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.