Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

[Ir., fifth].

A ‘fifth’ of Ireland, i.e. one of the five provinces before the English conquest; e.g. Cóiced Ulad: the fifth or province of Ulster. These included Leinster, Ulster, Connacht, and Munster; the fifth is usually Meath (coextensive with the modern counties of Meath and Westmeath) including Tara, but sometimes Munster is counted as two.

Subjects: Religion.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.