Michael Colgrass

(b. 1932)

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Music


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Chicago, 1932).

Amer. composer and percussionist. Worked in NY as free‐lance percussionist 1956–7, being specially concerned with th. work. Won Pulitzer 1978 with Déjà vu, for 4 percussionists and orch. Works incl. Percussion Music (1953); Chant, ch., vib. (1954); Seventeen, full orch. (1960); wind quintet (1962); Virgil's Dream, 4 actor‐singers, 4 mime‐musicians (Brighton Fest. 1967); The Earth's a Baked Apple, ch., orch. (Boston 1969); Nightingale Inc., opera (1971); Auras, hp., orch. (1976–7); Theatre of the Universe, solo vv., ch., orch. (1976–7); Something's gonna happen, children's musical (1978); Flashbacks, 5 brass (1979); Winds of Nagual, wind ens. (1985); The Schubert Birds, orch. (1989); Snow Walker, org., orch. (1990); Arctic Dreams, sym. band (1991); Te Tuma Te Papa, perc. (1994); Hammer and Bow, vn., mar. (1997); Dream Dancer, solo sax., wind. ens., cel., hp., perc. (2001); Ghosts of Pangea, orch. (2002); Crossworlds, fl., pf., orch. (2002); Apache with a Dream, school band (2003).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.