Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The command module of the Apollo 11 spacecraft that took three US astronauts to the Moon in 1969. Columbia was piloted by astronaut Michael Collins, who remained in lunar orbit while Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin descended to the surface in the lunar module, known as Eagle.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.