Commission for Local Administration in England

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A commission established by the Local Government Act 1974 to investigate complaints by the public of injustice suffered through maladministration by local authorities and certain other bodies. It consists of the Parliamentary Ombudsman and three Local Government Commissioners (more commonly known as Local Government Ombudsmen) for the various regions. Certain matters (e.g. decisions affecting the public generally and the conduct of criminal investigations) are outside their competence. Complaints to an Ombudsman must normally be made in writing, either directly or through a member of the local authority concerned. Ombudsmen's reports are sent to the complainant and the authority concerned and are also made public. There was formerly a similar Commission for Wales. Under the Public Service Ombudsman (Wales) Act 2005 this was abolished and a Public Services Ombudsman for Wales created with effect from April 2006. Separate arrangements likewise exist for Scotland under the Scottish Public Services Ombudsman Act 2002.

http://www.lgo.org.uk/ Website of the Local Government Commissioner for England

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.