Court of Common Pleas

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

One of the three courts of common law. The Court of Common Pleas was an offshoot of the curia regis, the court which followed the king on his travels around the country. The insistence of Magna Carta led to a court being established in one place. The court was based at Westminster Hall. In the Middle Ages it was the busiest of the common law courts. Over the centuries this position declined as other courts encroached on its jurisdiction. In the Judicature Act of 1873 the Court of Common Pleas along with the courts of Queen's Bench and Exchequer all became divisions of the High Court of Justice. Ultimately, they were all merged into the Queen's Bench Division in 1880.

Subjects: History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.