Common Worship

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Authorization of the ASB generally ended in 2000; it has been replaced by new services collectively called ‘Common Worship’. The main book, subtitled Services and Prayers for the Church of England (2000), provides a Calendar, with many new names, Morning and Evening Prayer for Sundays, Night Office or Compline (in both contemporary and traditional language), two Orders for the Eucharist (each in contemporary and traditional language), Thanksgiving for the Gift of a Child, Baptism, Collects and Postcommunions, a Lectionary for Sundays and greater feasts, and the Psalter. In the Eucharist, Order One is based on the two main rites of the ASB; Order Two on the 1662 BCP as commonly used in modern times. Order One contains eight alternative Eucharistic Prayers, of which two are provided for use in Order One in traditional language. There are many supplementary texts and alternatives. The main book is supplemented by Initiation Services (1998), which contains rites for Baptism and Confirmation (with or without the Eucharist) and Reception into the C of E; (revised in 2006 as Christian Initiation, including a rite of Reconciliation); Pastoral Services (2000), which provides for Ministry to the Sick, Marriage (including An Order for Prayer and Dedication after a Civil Marriage), Emergency Baptism, and Funerals (including the Burial of Ashes and an Outline Order for a Memorial Service); Daily Prayer (2005), which provides for the Office on weekdays; Times and Seasons (2006), which gives Propers for the whole year (including services for Holy Week); Ordination Services (2007); and a Lectionary.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.