cone pigment

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Any of three distinct visual pigments in the normal (non-colour-blind) human retina that are responsible for colour vision and that have peak sensitivities at approximately 430 nanometres, 530 nm, and 560 nm, usually called blue, green, and red pigments, respectively, although light of these wavelengths actually looks violet, blue-green, and yellowish-green. See also iodopsin. Compare rhodopsin.

Subjects: Psychology.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.