Related Overviews

Arthur Drewry (1891—1961)

Sir Stanley Rous (1895—1986) football referee and administrator


'CONMEBOL' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Sport and Leisure


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol; South American Football Confederation)

The federation for the national football (soccer) associations of South America. Inaugurated in 1916, CONMEBOL was the first of the six continental football federations to be formed, giving shape to the ambitions of aspiring football nations beyond the then-Eurocentric world governing body, FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association), which was founded twelve years earlier by just six European nations. With ten member nations, CONMEBOL has been the joint smallest confederation in FIFA (with political minnow Oceania) in sheer voting numbers, but has had power and influence proportionate to its sporting achievements: three of its members—Argentina, Brazil, and Uruguay—have won the men's football World Cup more than once each. Brazil has won the trophy more times than any other nation. The confederation's grandiose headquarters in Asunción, Paraguay, are testimony to the symbolic profile of football in less economically developed societies. Festering tensions between CONMEBOL and FIFA, particularly in the period after World War II when FIFA was led by Frenchman Jules Rimet, Belgian Rodolphe Seeldrayers, and Englishmen Arthur Drewry and Sir Stanley Rous, led to the successful challenge and campaign of Dr João Havelange to become the first and so far only non-European president of FIFA, in 1974.

http://www.conmebol.com/ The official site of the South American Football Confederation.

Subjects: Sport and Leisure.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.