Conservative Party, South Africa

Related Overviews

Louis Botha (1862—1919) prime minister of the Union of South Africa and army officer



Frederik Willem de Klerk (b. 1936) South African statesman


'Conservative Party, South Africa' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Contemporary History (Post 1945)


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Established in 1982 by Andries Petrus Treurnicht (b. 1921, d. 1993), who had been expelled from the National Party (NP) for his negative stance to P. W. Botha's moderate reform of apartheid, earning him the nickname ‘Dr No’. As former leader of the influential Transvaal section of the NP, Treurnicht had considerable standing in the Afrikaner communities of the Transvaal and Orange Free State. In the 1987 elections, the Conservative Party (CP) became the biggest party of opposition with twenty‐two parliamentary seats, increasing its representation to 39 seats in 1989, with just over 30 per cent of the votes cast. However, its fortunes underwent a dramatic decline after de Klerk's decision to hold a referendum on the abolition of apartheid in 1992, which the White population approved with an overwhelming majority, against the opposition of the CP. It did not participate in the 1994 multi‐racial elections out of protest.

Subjects: Contemporary History (Post 1945).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.