Council of the North

'Council of the North' can also refer to...

Council of the North

Council of the North

Council of the North

Council of the North

WHELDON, Wynn Powell (died 1961), Member of Council Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion; Chairman: Festival of Britain 1951 Welsh Cttee; Court and Council of University of Wales; University College of North Wales; and the Council of Social Service (Wales)

BYRNES, Percy (Thomas) (1893 - 1973), Member of the Legislative Council for North-Western Province, Victoria, Australia, 1942–69; Country Party Leader in the Legislative Council, 1952–69; JP

BLACKIE, Jonathan Adam (born 1953), Regional Director, Government Office for the North East, 2002–11; Culture Partnership Manager, Association of North East Councils, since 2013

M’LEAN, Allan (1840 - 1911), at one time MP Gippsland North; Member of the Executive Council of Victoria

WHITWELL, William Fry (1867 - 1942), Chairman and Managing Director The Horden Collieries Ltd, Darlington; JP North Riding of Yorkshire; Sheriff of Yorkshire, 1919; Alderman and Chairman of the North Riding of Yorkshire County Council; Mayor of Thornaby-on-Tees, 1913–19

Treaty between the United States and the Apache, Cheyenne and Arapaho (North America), signed at the council-ground on the Little Arkansas, in the state of Kansas, signed 17 October 1865

WOTHERSPOON, Robert Andrew (1912 - 1975), DL; solicitor; Clerk of the County Council of North Riding of Yorkshire, 1960–74; Clerk to the Lieutenancy, 1962–74

NORTH, Alfred Kingsley (1900 - 1981), Judge of the Court of Appeal, New Zealand, 1957–72 (President of the Court, 1963–72); first Chairman, New Zealand Press Council, 1972–78

BARNETT, Colin Michael (1929 - 2010), international business consultant, since 1990; Regional Secretary, North-West Regional Council of the Trades Union Congress, 1976–85; Divisional Officer, North-West Division of the National Union of Public Employees, 1971–84

WILSON, (Reginald) Victor (1877 - 1957), Chairman National Press, Sydney; Member National Health and Research Council of the Commonwealth; Member North Sydney Hospital Board; Member Research Council of NSW; Member of Board Australian General Assurance

PEASE, Arthur Francis (1866 - 1927), DL; JP; coalowner; Chairman, Durham County Council, 1922; a Director of Pease Partners, Limited, Lloyds Bank, Ltd, and the London and North-Eastern Railway Company

Treaty between the United States and the Blackfeet (North America), signed at the council-ground on the Upper Missouri, near the mouth of the Judith River, in the Territory of Nebraska, 17 October 1855

ELLIS, Francis Robert (1849 - 1915), late Auditor-General and Controller of Revenue and Accountant-General of the Island of Ceylon; a member of the Executive and Legislative Councils; Governor North Borneo, 1911–12

KEPPEL, George Roos- (1866 - 1921), Member of the Council of the Secretary of State for India, 1920; Chief Commissioner and Agent to Governor-General North West Frontier Province, India, 1908–19; Hon. Colonel Khyber Rifles, 1909

LYNN, Robert (1873 - 1945), MP (U) West Belfast in Ulster Parliament, 1921–29, North Antrim, since 1929; Chairman of Ways and Means and Deputy Speaker since 1937; was Chairman of Education Committee in Northern Ireland; Chairman of the Advisory Educational Council


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The chief arm of government in the turbulent northern shires of Yorkshire, Durham, Cumberland, Westmorland, and Northumberland in the Tudor and early Stuart period. As duke of Gloucester in Edward IV's reign, Richard III had shared power in the north with the earl of Northumberland. Having seized the crown in 1483, he appointed Northumberland warden of the marches but created a separate council at York. Its importance in Elizabeth I's reign is indicated by the fact that, after the dangerous rising of the northern earls in 1569, the presidency was held by Lord Huntingdon, the queen's cousin, from 1572 until 1595, and by Lord Burghley, elder brother of Sir Robert Cecil, from 1599 until 1603. In 1628 Charles I appointed Strafford to be president. He retained the office while he was lord deputy in Ireland but in 1641 was attainted and executed. The council was abolished by the Long Parliament shortly afterwards. From the dissolution of the monasteries to its abolition, the council met in the King's Manor at York, the residence of the lord president.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.