Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The smallest constellation of all, better known as the Southern Cross. Its distinctive cross-shape is marked by four stars: Alpha Crucis (Acrux); Beta Crucis (Becrux or Mimosa); Gamma Crucis (Gacrux); and the faintest of the four, Delta Crucis, magnitude 2.8. Mu Crucis is a wide double of magnitudes 4.0 and 5.2. NGC 4755 is a sparkling open cluster known as the Jewel Box or the Kappa Crucis Cluster. Crux lies in a rich part of the Milky Way, part of which is blotted out by the dark Coalsack nebula.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.