James Oliver Curwood


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1878–1927), Michigan journalist and novelist, won immense popularity for his many stories of adventure in the North Woods, which he termed “God's Country.” Following the conventions of Jack London's robust fiction of the elemental struggle for survival by men and beasts, these novels include The Courage of Captain Plum (1908), The Grizzly King (1916), Nomads of the North (1919), and The Valley of Silent Men (1920).

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.