Czech Quartet

Related Overviews

Hanuš Wihan (1855—1920)

Josef Suk (1874—1935)


'Czech Quartet' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Music


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Cz. string quartet formed in 1891 by pupils of Hanuš Wihan at Prague Cons. First concert 1892. Visited Russ. 1895 and Brit. 1896. Last tour Holland 1931. Disbanded 1933. Orig. members were Karel Hoffmann (1872–1936), Josef Suk (1874–1935), Oskar Nedbal (1874–1930), and Otto Berger (1873–97). Nedbal was replaced 1906 by Jiří Herold (1875–1934) and Berger in 1894 by Wihan (1855–1920). Wihan was replaced 1914 by Ladislav Zelenka (1881–1957). Gave 1,000th concert in 1902. Specialized in Smetana, Dvořák, and Beethoven, but played many modern qts. incl. those by Reger, Pfitzner, Schoenberg, Ravel, etc.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.