Related Overviews


'daśa-śīla' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Buddhism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Skt., Pāli, dasa-sīla).

The Ten Precepts. These are 1–6 of the Eight Precepts (aṣṭāṇga-śīla) with additional prohibitions on (7) dancing, singing, music, and watching shows; (8) using garlands, perfumes, and personal adornments; (9) using high seats or beds; (10) accepting gold or silver. The Ten Precepts are observed by novice monks and nuns. See also pañca-śīla; daśa-kuśala-karmapatha.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.