Clyde Brion Davis


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1894–1962), born in Nebraska, served on various newspapers (1919–37) until he began to write novels, which include The Anointed (1937), the story of a sailor who considers himself divinely inspired, but, ironically, becomes a grocery clerk when caught in the web of marriage; The Great American Novel (1938), about a roving newspaperman who dreams vainly of the novel he means to write, unaware that his own life is the great American novel; Nebraska Coast (1939), about a typical, unheroic pioneer; Follow the Leader (1942), satirizing a war hero who becomes a businessman; The Rebellion of Leo McGuire (1944), about a reformed burglar; The Stars Incline (1946), a study of a newspaperman; Jeremy Bell (1947), set in a 19th-century lumber camp; Temper the Wind (1948), about a prizefighter; Playtime Is Over (1949), about an ex-soldier of fortune; Thudbury (1952); The Newcomer (1954); Unholy Uproar (1957); and The Big Pink Kite (1960). The Arkansas (1940) is a history of the river; The Age of Indiscretion (1950) contains reminiscences; and Something for Nothing (1956) studies gambling. Shadow of a Tiger (1963) is a quasi-autobiographical novel.

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.