Peter Davison

(b. 1928)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


New York City-born poet and editor, graduated from Harvard, was a Fulbright Scholar at Cambridge University, and won the award of the Yale Series of Younger Poets with The Breaking of the Day (1964). Later collections include The City and the Island (1966), Pretending To Be Asleep (1970), Dark Houses (1971), Walking the Boundaries (1974), A Voice in the Mountain (1977), Barn Fever (1981), and Praying Wrong (1984). Half Remembered (1973) is an autobiography. He became poetry editor of the Atlantic Monthly in 1972.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.