Declaration of the Sovereign

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Also known as the ‘Royal Declaration’. The oath repudiating the RC faith which Parliament imposed on William and Mary when they came to the throne in 1689. It has been taken by all subsequent British sovereigns, though its form was simplified in 1910.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.