Delhi Sultans

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(r. 1206–1526)

First Islamic state centered in South Asia. Included the Mamluk, Khalji, Tughluq, Sayyid, and Lodi dynasties, which dominated the Indian subcontinent's north. Qutbuddin and his ethnically Turkish successors made Delhi their capital and patronized artists fleeing the Mongols, which stimulated a growing composite tradition arising from Persianate and indigenous sources.

Subjects: Islam.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.