Dīgha Nikāya

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The first book of the Sūtra Piṭaka of the Pāli Canon. It consists of 34 long (dīgha) discourses (suttas), divided into three sections known respectively as the Sīlakkhandha, the Mahāvagga, and the Pātheya or Pāṭikavagga. A number of the suttas, such as the Mahānidāna Sutta and Mahāsatipaṭṭhāna Sutta, expound important doctrines. Also, in many of the suttas, like the Soṇadaṇḍa Sutta and the Sāmaññaphala Sutta, the Buddha discusses the views and doctrines of Brahmanism and various contemporary religious schools and philosophies. The commentary on the Dīgha Nikāya, compiled in the 5th century by Buddhaghoṣa is known as the Sumaṇgalavilāsinī.

Subjects: Buddhism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.