Related Overviews

Diocletian (284—305)


Constantine I (c. 274—337) Roman emperor

Valens (364)


'dioecesis' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Classical Studies


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Diocletian divided Italy and most of the existing provinces into smaller provinces, which he grouped into twelve ‘dioceses’, each administered by a vicarius. These ‘vicars’ were officially deputies of the ...

Subjects: Classical Studies.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.