doctors of the Church

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A title regularly given since the Middle Ages to certain Christian theologians of outstanding merit and acknowledged saintliness. Sts Gregory the Great, Ambrose, Augustine, and Jerome were originally held to be the ‘four doctors’ par excellence; the list has been increased to over 30.

Subjects: Religion — Medieval and Renaissance History (500 to 1500).

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.