Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Several countries use ‘dollar’ as the name for their national currency. These countries include Australia, Canada, Fiji, Hong Kong, Jamaica, New Zealand, Singapore, and the United States. Any mention of ‘a dollar’ without qualification normally refers to the US dollar, unless it occurs in a context which implies that it means the local currency.

Subjects: Financial Institutions and Services.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.