Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The highest taxonomic category in a classification system based on comparisons of ribosomal RNA. There are three domains: Archaea; Eubacteria; and Eukarya. Each domain comprises organisms that are not closely related genetically to members of either of the other domains. See also kingdom.

Subjects: Ecology and Conservation.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.