Downing Street

Related Overviews

Lord Orford Horace Walpole (1717—1797) author, politician, and patron of the arts

Whitehall palace

Sir George Gilbert Scott (1811—1878) architect

Lord Orford Robert Walpole (1676—1745) prime minister

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • British History


Quick Reference

Was built by Sir George Downing in the 1680s. Only three of the original houses remain, on the north side—no. 10 used by the prime minister, no. 11 by the chancellor, and no. 12 by the whips. Sir Robert Walpole accepted it from George II in 1732 for the prime minister of the day.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries