Dramatic Idyls

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A volume of six poems, by R. Browning, published in 1879. After the publication of a sequel (below), the collection was called ‘Dramatic Idyls, First Series’. The poems are among the finest of Browning's later period, particularly ‘Ivàn Ivànovitch’, a story based on a Russian folk tale of a woman who threw her children to the wolves in order to save her own life. The collection focuses on human behaviour in conditions of extreme stress.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Robert Browning (1812—1889) poet

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.