Jacob Druckman


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Philadelphia, 1928; d Milford, Conn., 1996).

Amer. composer. Taught at Juilliard Sch. 1957–72. Dir. Yale Univ. Sch. of Mus. EMS 1971–2. Pulitzer Prize 1972 for Windows, f.p. Chicago SO cond. Maderna. Comp.‐in‐residence NYPO 1982–6. Works incl. conc. for str. (1951); ballet mus.; 3 str. qts. (1948, 1966, 1981); Valentine, db. solo (1969); The Sound of Time for sop. and orch. (1965); Animus I, II, III, and IV (1966, 1968, 1969, 1977), for instr. and tape; Lamia, sop. and orch. (1974); Chiaroscuro, orch. (1976); Other Voices, brass quintet (1976); va. conc. (1978); Aureole, orch. (1979); Prism, 3 pieces for orch. after Charpentier, Cavalli, and Cherubini (1980); Tromba marina, 4 db. (1981); Athanor, in mem. Vincent Persichetti, winds, brass, perc. (1987).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.