Dumfries and Galloway

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Has since 1973 been a local authority region of Scotland comprising the counties of Dumfries, Kirkcudbright, and Wigtown. Till 1996 it shared local government activities with its districts of Annandale and Eskdale, Nithsdale, Stewartry, and Wigtown, but now has sole responsibility.

Subjects: British History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.