East African Community

Quick Reference


An economic association of East African countries. It began with a declaration of intent (June 1963) between Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda to improve trade, communications, and economic development. This was the East African Common Services Organization and provided for common currency, common market, and customs. This was developed by the Treaty of Kampala (1967) into the East African Community with headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. It made considerable economic headway before 1971 when Uganda came under Idi Amin Dada's regime. The Community broke up in 1977, but was revived in 2001. A customs union was established in 2005.

Subjects: World History — African Studies.

Reference entries