ecliptic pole

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Either of the two points on the celestial sphere that lie 90° north and south of the plane of the ecliptic. The north ecliptic pole lies in Draco, and the south ecliptic pole in Dorado. The ecliptic poles lie at the centre of the circle of precession swept out by the celestial poles every 25 800 years.

Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.