(b. 1952)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(Eiko Otake, b Tokyo, 14 Feb. 1952; Koma Otake, b Niigata, 27 Sept. 1948)

Japanese-US dancers and choreographers. They studied law and political science but in 1971 joined the Tatsumi Hijikata Butoh company in Tokyo. In 1972 they performed their first work together and in the same year also began studying with Ohno. In 1972 they moved to Germany and studied with Manja Chmiell, a follower of Wigman (1972–3) and toured in Europe before settling in the US in 1976. While inspired by butoh forms, their work is attuned to natural, elemental themes, expressed through austere, distorted but also serenely beautiful movement, as in Grain (mus. trad., 1983), Thirst (silent, 1985), Land (mus. Robert Mirabal, 1991), Wind (mus. Mirabal, Eiko, and Koma, 1993), Breath (1998), Be With (2001, with Halprin), Death Poem (2004), and Mourning (2007). They have also choreographed work for CoDanceCo and Dance Alloy. In 1996 they were jointly awarded a MacArthur Fellowship.

http://www.eikoandkoma.org Website for Eiko and Koma

Subjects: Dance.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.