Quick Reference

A political, cultural, and literary review, founded in 1953, originally edited by S. Spender and Irving Kristol. It was the vehicle for N. Mitford's celebrated formulation of the ‘U’ and ‘Non‐U’ concept (1955), and C. P. Snow pursued the Two Cultures controversy in its pages (1959–60). It has also published poetry by R. Lowell, Plath, Roethke, Auden, Larkin, Amis, and many others, and articles by Koestler, Popper, Naipaul, etc.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries