Peter Eötvös

(d. 1944)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Sźekelyudvarhely, 1944).

Hung. conductor and composer. Played in Stockhausen's elec. ens. in Cologne from 1968. Worked in Cologne's West Ger. radio EMS 1971–9. Cond., Ensemble Intercontemporain, Paris, 1979–91. Cond. f.p. of Stockhausen's Donnerstag aus Licht, Milan 1981. Also cond. f.ps. of Donatoni's Duo pour Bruno, 1975; Stockhausen's Michaels Reise um die Erde (Act II of Donnerstag aus Licht, 1978); Reich's Desert Music, 1984; Birtwistle's Earth Dances, 1986; and Amy's Missa cum jubilo, 1988. Comps. incl. Hochzeitmadrigal, 6 soloists (1963, rev. 1976); Intervalles‐Intérieures, var. instr. (1981); Pierre‐Idyll, chamber orch. (1984); Chinese Opera, chamber orch. (1986); The Metal Space, 7 brass, 2 perc. (1990); Korrespondenz, str. qt. (1992); Atlantis, vv., large ens., synth. (1995); Three Sisters, opera (1996–7); 2 Monologues, bar., orch. (1998); Replica, va., orch. (1998); As I Crossed a Bridge of Dreams, mus. th. (1998–9); Le Balcon, opera (2001–2); Jet Stream, tpt., orch. (2002); CAP‐KO, conc. for acoustic pf., kbd., orch. (2005).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.